Only Sixteen

Being sixteen for me was so long ago. I’d left school and had a scooter and hence I became a MOD. I had an apprenticehip and leaving school was for me anyway, just great. I used to ride my scooter and go down to a cafe play the jukebox, meet girls and generally loon about.

When asked by my parents “Where are you going?”

I replied, “When I’m out, I’m out, when I’m in, I’m in!”

Not a very nice person, how my parents put up with me, goodness only knows. It was probably the era, mods, rockers, girls, music and being very anti being told what to do.

As for a name I was called Smiler, it was a name which was given to me in school and seemed appropriate as I was very happy go lucky.

Leave a Reply

